Anecdotal by David Fathi

35.00€

webanecdotal_1
webanecdotal_3
webanecdotal_8
webanecdotal_5
webanecdotal_10
webanecdotal_2

Anecdotal by David Fathi

35.00€

In our collective unconscious the nuclear age is synonymous with the explosion of two atom bombs. Hiroshima and Nagasaki. But since 1945 it has been documented that more than 2,000 nuclear bombs have been detonated on Earth. Since the end of the Second World War, countries with nuclear powers methodically bombed their own lands.

Self mutilation in the name of self defense.

Colour, 108 pages, sewn, hard cover
22 x 16 cm, portrait format
600 copies.

Category: .

In our collective unconscious the nuclear age is synonymous with the explosion of two atom bombs. Hiroshima and Nagasaki. But since 1945 it has been documented that more than 2,000 nuclear bombs have been detonated on Earth. Since the end of the Second World War, countries with nuclear powers methodically bombed their own lands.

Self mutilation in the name of self defense.

This series’ starting point is the unfamiliar stories and anecdotes around nuclear armament and testing programs. Mixing archival photos, satellite imagery, packshots and road-trip photos, David Fathi has tried re-contextualizing a history wavering between a horrific investigation and an absurd farce.

All that is documented here is true, but seems to be from a work of bad fiction. We find stories of contaminated ministers, bombs lost and never found, the power struggles between colonial powers and local populations, the invention of the bikini and vaporized chickens.

By documenting and illustrating these unfamiliar narratives, maybe it’s possible to rethink our reality and the dissonance between the world we believe we live in and the one we have actually built.

Weight 550 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

webanecdotal_1

Be the first to review “Anecdotal by David Fathi”

Anecdotal de David Fathi

35.00€

webanecdotal_1
webanecdotal_3
webanecdotal_8
webanecdotal_5
webanecdotal_10
webanecdotal_2

Anecdotal de David Fathi

35.00€

Dans notre psyché collective l’âge nucléaire correspond à l’explosion de deux bombes atomiques. Hiroshima et Nagasaki. Mais pourtant depuis 1945 on dénombre plus de 2.000 explosions nucléaires à travers le monde. Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale les puissances nucléaires ont bombardé méthodiquement leurs propres territoires.

De l’auto-mutilation au nom de l’autodéfense.

Couleur, 108 pages, cousu, couverture rigide
22 x 16 cm, format portrait
600 exemplaires.

Category: .

Dans notre psyché collective l’âge nucléaire correspond à l’explosion de deux bombes atomiques. Hiroshima et Nagasaki. Mais pourtant depuis 1945 on dénombre plus de 2.000 explosions nucléaires à travers le monde. Depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale les puissances nucléaires ont bombardé méthodiquement leurs propres territoires.

De l’auto-mutilation au nom de l’autodéfense.

Cette série prend comme point de départ les histoires et anecdotes peu connues entourant les programmes d’essais nucléaires. En mélangeant photos d’archives, imagerie satellitaire, packshots et roadtrip photographique, David Fathi essaye de recontextualiser une histoire qui hésite entre l’enquête horrifique et la farce absurde.

Tout ce qui est documenté ici est vrai, mais semble être tiré d’un mauvais film. On y croise des ministres contaminés, des bombes perdues et jamais retrouvées, l’invention du bikini, les rapports de force entre puissances coloniales et populations locales, des poulets vaporisés etc.

En documentant et en illustrant ces épisodes méconnus de notre passé, peut-être est-il possible de repenser notre réalité et la dissonance entre le monde dans lequel nous pensons vivre, et celui que nous avons réellement construit.

Poids 550 g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

webanecdotal_1

Be the first to review “Anecdotal de David Fathi”